Understanding Nat 20: Does it Mean Double Damage in Dungeons & Dragons?
Explore whether a Nat 20 means double damage in D&D, and understand critical hits and house rules.
310 views
In most tabletop RPGs like Dungeons & Dragons, a Nat 20 on an attack roll is a critical hit, which often results in double damage based on the rules. This means you typically roll twice as many dice for damage, enhancing your chances of inflicting significant harm on your opponent. Always check your specific game’s rulebook for confirmation, as house rules might vary.
FAQs & Answers
- What does a Nat 20 mean in Dungeons & Dragons? A Nat 20, or natural 20, refers to rolling a twenty on a twenty-sided dice during an attack roll in Dungeons & Dragons, which typically results in a critical hit.
- How is damage calculated for a critical hit? When you score a critical hit, you generally roll twice as many dice for damage. For example, if you normally roll 1d8 for damage, you would roll 2d8 instead.
- Are there exceptions to double damage on a critical hit? Yes, some specific abilities, spells, or house rules might alter how critical damage is calculated, so it’s important to refer to your game’s rulebook.
- Can a Nat 20 miss? Under standard rules, a Nat 20 is always a hit regardless of the target's armor class, but some house rules may allow for unique scenarios.