When Can You Dual Wield in D&D? Key Rules Explained

Discover when and how to dual wield in D&D to maximize your combat effectiveness.

35 views

You can dual wield in D&D if you have a weapon in each hand that has the Light property. Your main weapon is used for a regular attack, and you can use a Bonus Action to attack with the off-hand weapon. Notably, Dual Wielding lets you add your ability modifier to both attacks if the appropriate fighting style is selected, enhancing your combat flexibility.

FAQs & Answers

  1. What are the requirements for dual wielding in D&D? To dual wield in D&D, you need to have a weapon with the Light property in each hand.
  2. Can you add your ability modifier when dual wielding? Yes, if you have the appropriate fighting style, you can add your ability modifier to both attacks.
  3. What is a Bonus Action in D&D? A Bonus Action in D&D is an additional action that allows you to perform certain actions, like attacking with your off-hand weapon when dual wielding.