Is a NAT 20 Always a Hit in D&D? Understanding Critical Hits

Discover if a NAT 20 guarantees a hit in D&D, and learn the rules around critical hits and attack rolls.

168 views

In D&D, a NAT 20 is not always a hit in all situations. While a NAT 20 is an automatic success in attack rolls, ensuring a critical hit regardless of modifiers or the target's AC (Armor Class), it does not apply to non-attack rolls like skill checks or saving throws. Always consult your specific edition's rules for any exceptions or special circumstances.

FAQs & Answers

  1. What does NAT 20 mean in Dungeons & Dragons? A NAT 20 refers to rolling a 20 on a 20-sided die, which usually signifies a critical success in an attack roll.
  2. Are there exceptions to NAT 20 being a hit? Yes, NAT 20 guarantees a critical hit in attack rolls but does not apply to non-attack rolls such as skill checks.
  3. How does critical damage work with a NAT 20? When you roll a NAT 20, you typically roll extra dice for damage, depending on the weapon or ability used.
  4. Do all editions of D&D treat NAT 20 the same? While the general concept remains consistent, specific rules regarding critical hits can vary between different editions of D&D.